It’s a man’s world

In order to respond to devious diva‘s battle cry, I thought I would write something on International Women’s Day. Before anything else, and before any (typically British or American) gits accuse me of promoting stalinist holidays, let me just point you here for some relevant info. Besides, even if there weren’t a Women’s Day, we would have to invent one.

I have thought I would write something all day today. But I don’t know what. I don’t know how it is to start 400 meters behind your male competitors; I don’t know how it feels to have men stereotype every single behavioral trait of yours; I can’t know how it feels to be paid much less for the same job some man does; I don’t know of the pressures to get married no matter what the cost; I can’t possibly imagine having to bear kids, raise them,alternately be chaste and virtuous or sexy and seductive in a perfectly timely fashion — for the sake of men and not because I could get any fulfillment myself out of any of these; I cannot conceive being seen first as butt and tits (or lamentably deficient in them) and then as someone — and mind you, I am of a not unpleasantly proportioned physique myself. 😉

Seriously now, I can hardly do any of the above. Still, I haven’t even touched sexual coercion and repression, bans on education and employment, a homebound life, genital mutilation, rape, poverty, war, AIDS, being just an expendable commodity bought and sold and lost and won home and abroad.

I’m sorry, I can’t respond to the call.

2 thoughts on “It’s a man’s world

  1. Just the fact that you recognise the sexism inherent in society is a start. There are far too many people who feel sexism is a thing of the past and there is no need to work against it anymore. We still have a very long way to go…

Leave a Reply

