Everything comes to me

Here in the claustrophobia of my island exile I have finally learned one thing, a thing that has quietly brought me to the threshold of moving one level up, in the process of leaving behind the usual dual me. Whatever happens, however painful, acrid and bitter, it can bring with it something new and welcome and fresh, a new edge for oneself and the world to reflect on. The old platitude seems to be at work here: we are created and reinvented by constraints and within the space they define. This is not stoicism, this is what I should have known better: I would have avoided unnecessary suffering.

As I wrote two years ago, without fully appreciating it: cunctando regitur mundus. You don’t have to wait in stillness and meditation, just to hold your ground.

2 thoughts on “Everything comes to me

Leave a Reply

