Baby steps

I am not a particularly bold or brave person. True, I rarely shy away from expressing my opinion and speaking my mind, but that’s all. For me, talk is cheap. However, I usually think things over (and over and over) before trying anything, whether a petty transgression, an act of elementary courage, a feeble expression of will, a minimally bold move — or what have you. The funny thing is that once I do the do, I pass into a stage (or should I call it a ‘zone’?) of disbelief and elation: is it really me who has done this? I subsequently sometimes feel mystified or elated, sometimes I feel ridiculous. But I usually feel relieved. And slightly smug, too.

Well, in these cases at least, I keep it all in. You wouldn’t know.

Leave a Reply

